Sketch N Scrap Blog Hop – Christmas

Hello everyone!

I hope you’re having a great time visiting Sketch N Scrap’s daily inspiration in the hop.

Today is my turn in SNS Holiday Hop with Christmas being the highlight.  It’s only few weeks from now until Christmas and I have started working on my holiday cards that I will be sending away to friends and family.

Christmas is such a special celebration for us a family. As I’m working overseas, I make it a point to come home for Christmas and New Year to be with the whole family. It’s not only the time that we come together with all the kids and siblings but its the time we celebrate God’s special gift of love, the birth of Jesus.

Moving with the card project today, I die cut the Christmas tree twice from Papertrey Ink. I then stitched them together for some handmade feel to it and added some sequins too for glitz. For the sentiment, I silver embossed them to complement the shine in the tree.

full2

emboss

detail

As part of the celebration to the hop, I’m giving away supplies that you can also use in your next craft project. I included some patterned papers. ribbon, washi and embellishments from Hero Arts and Pink Paislee.

give away blog

To win, you can leave a comment saying what is the best Christmas/ holiday tradition that you would like pass to your children or to the next generation. I’m drawing a random winner  on 12th November 2013.

Don’t forget to come back at Sketch N Scrap blog for more project fun.

Thanks for stopping by!

23 thoughts on “Sketch N Scrap Blog Hop – Christmas

  1. Christmas is such a wonderful time of the year! I can’t believe it is almost here! Your card is so lovely (as always!) love silver and red, such a great combo and that tree is just adorable!

  2. I love Christmas and making my own cards and so many layouts. Can’t believe only 2 months away. Our tradition I hope my kids always continue is for the adults to fill the Christmas stockings Christmas Eve after kids are in bed. Everyone has a stocking even the adults. I kept the tradition my paternal grandmother did of always giving her son (my dad) chocolate covered cherries in his stocking, so I’ve kept that tradition alive after her passing what I want to continue after my Dad is gone is his tradition of giving lottery scratch off tickets in everyone’s Christmas stocking. It seems everyone is busy scratching off these before they look at anything else in their stocking.
    Your card is fantastic, what a great idea to sew the two halves and have them pop up against the same flat tree on the card.

  3. My mother, sisters, and I have been making a German breakfast roll, a recipe handed down from my father’s grandmother, since I can remember. Since I have two boys, it’s difficult to get them involved in the process every Christmas. Every once in a while, my oldest will participate. I suppose I may have to wait until he’s married to a woman that’s hopefully willing to learn about our tradition!

    Beautiful card!!!!

  4. I love the silver embossing on your card! Thanks for inspiring me! My favorite tradition that I am glad to see my sons already do with their family is to put out the manger scene and give it a place of prominence in their holiday decorations. Keep the reason for the season obvious. Thanks for the chance to win.

  5. I love the sentiment and your embossing and the stitching on the tree. it is all great. I usually do photo cards for Christmas so I don’t make Christmas cards. I hope the true meaning of Christmas about Jesus birth is what I pass on to my children.

  6. Your Christmas card is so pretty and the stitching on the tree looks amazing alongside the sequins. Beautiful blog hop inspiration. xx

  7. I love your card. It looks both wonderful and amazing and yet manageable to make and send a bunch out for Christmas! Your prize pack also looks incredible and very fun! My favorite Christmas tradition is to hide a glass pickle on the tree. My kids enjoy looking for it – insert giggle – even my other family members including my in-laws enjoy searching for it when they come to visit. It gives a reason to look closely at all the ornaments, which always bring such wonderful memories.

  8. proud to be filipino. so glad to see fellow pinay crafters doing creative stuff around the globe. 🙂
    as for the christmas traditions, not exactly traditions but more on food… since we are also living away from our home country, husband & i decided to make a lechon recipe of our own & we have been preparing & improving our lechon belly for the past 6 years specially during the holidays. that’s what we would like to pass on to our kids & to their kids & to the next.
    thank you very much for the chance & i hope i win.

  9. I would like to pass on the tradition of leaving milk and cookies out for Santa and also reading about when Christ was born as a family.

  10. This card is FAB-U-LOUS!!! I just love that tree!!!!
    I spend Christmas every year with my family… My WHOLE family!!!! It’s the only day of the year that we are all together. It’s one thing I really want my children to embrace and continue!! There is nothing more important than time with family 🙂
    Thanks for the chance to win!!!!

  11. Love your work and LOVE LOVE LOVE the sentiment stamp! My favorite tradition is the night before after our daughter is asleep – just peace and quiet with lights turned low to emphasize the glow of the tree and often a fire. Just me and hubby and a glass of champagne (and maybe one or two of Santa’s cookies) oggling all the pretty packages under the tree

  12. LOVE your card with the dimensional tree. Really pretty.

    The best Christmas tradition I would want to pass on to my family is knowing AND living out the true meaning of Christmas……that Jesus (who is God’s Son…and God, himself!) stepped out of eternity to become a baby and share in our humanity….and live the perfect life that we are NOT able live….and so qualify Himself to carry the punishment for the offenses and misdeeds we have done. We can truly have peace with God because Jesus Christ died in our place and makes a way for us to have eternal life that starts now and extends into eternity after we die. That is the true message of Christmas.

    How lovely of you to offer such a spectacular array of prize goodies. I am a brand-new follower of your blog by Google Friend and also follow Sketch n Scrap by the same. Yippee!!
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com

  13. Pingback: SNS Holiday Hop Winner | Heartforhandmade.com

Leave a Reply

