Diecut challenge

Happy Saturday!

I am just thrilled to share my projects today 🙂 If you came from the Sketch-N-Scrap blog, I’m so glad that you visit me in my small nook.

May is a birthday month for Sketch-N-Scrap and the celebration continuous until end of May. There are challenges and inspirations plus a lot of amazing prizes in store for the month-long celebration so be sure to check Sketch-N-Scrap  everyday to see what’s being offered on the day.

So now, I’m here to share with you the way I use and combine die cuts into a card. This is the first time I tried doing a shaped card using my Spellbinder Nestabilities, circle and labels 19 dies. I used both shapes as the card base then later added a selection of dies that are mostly from Papertrey Ink.

For my circle card, I cut a label die and arranged an ‘I (heart) you’ dies over it to cut again. I put a different colored paper behind the cut letters & shape for contrast. Noticed that I cut the heart shape only by half? I did partial die cutting, a technique I saw online.

This circle card is not too big so I did minimal embellishment so even if I put this to mail, it will not be too bulky either. I used die cut cork + heart and finished it off with buttons and ribbon. Faux stitching too on top and below the card base.

For the Labels shaped card, I did random die cut elements using different materials. This is just to show you how other materials would work well on your dies and not just only paper. I used most dies from Papertrey Ink. The word ‘i heart you’ was from the negative of my circle die.

I did minimal stamping in my card base too, see the musical stamped background? My die cut materials are a mix of paper, cork and felt. I added some texture in my felt heart by stitching along the same heart shape, then added ribbon and a button. I love buttons too!

Faux stitching it is to finish off the card.

blogcard 2

card1 blog

I would also love to see how you use your dies. As part of Sketch-N-Scrap’s birthday bash, I’m giving away a pack of embellishments to one lucky winner 🙂 who will join in the challenge . The pack will include die cut piece embellishments, birthday stamp, rub-on, stickers and ribbons.

So grab your die cuts now and create one to enter the challenge. You can add your project using the inLinkz below. This is my first time using the InLinkz tool so if you happen to encounter any problem linking your project in, please let me know immediately so I can look into it.

MMEc

The challenge is open until 31st May and I will be announcing the winner by the first week of June.

Please note of some simple guidelines though

The rules:

1. Be a follower of my blog (if you are not yet one)

2. A project must be made after this challenge on the time this challenge went live

3. You must have a working text link to Heart for Handmade Die-cut challenge to be in your blog to be eligible for a win. You can also link to Flickr or other online gallery if you do not have a blog.

4. And the most important one, you must have FUN!

Thanks for stopping by!



6 thoughts on “Diecut challenge

  1. These cards are just gorgeous! I love shaped cards, so elegant! Great ideas for us to use our dies, you inspired me to use some of my older ones I have neglected for far to long!

  2. Beautiful cards Ria and awesome challenge! I just recently added some spellbinder nestabilities to my stash and you’ve inspired me to pull them out & use them!

Leave a comment